Created March 4, 1837 Welcome to Stephenson County, Illinois! Welcome to Stephenson County, Illinois!
County Clerk and Recorder
Vital Records
· Birth Records
· Death Records
· Marriage Licenses
· Marriage Records
· Registration of Notary Commissions
· Delinquent Taxes
County Officials
Precinct Committeeman
Online Record Purchase
Raffle Licenses
Real Estate Records
· FAQs
Registration of Assumed Names (DBAs)
Forms
Freedom of Information Act
Organization Chart
Elections
Tax Computation Reports
PTELL Information
Contact Us

Recording Fees

Effective January 1, 2008 - (Fees subject to change without notice, due to ongoing legislative bills.)

Please provide a self address envelope for the return of your documents.

No refunds will be given for overpayment of recording received by mail. If the overpayment is more than $10.00, we will return your documents.

 

Description Fee Amount
*Documents up to four pages
per document
$50.00
Additional pages
per page
$1.00
Additional references to document
per page
$1.00
Documents without legal descriptions
per page
$1.00
*All assignments (including mortgages) up to four pages
per document
$50.00
Additional pages
per page
$1.00
Additional assignments with same instrument
each
$7.00
*Mechanics Liens, Lis Pendens
per document
$50.00
*Judgment Memos, and Releases
per document
$40.00
*Corporation records, up to four pages
per document
$40.00
Additional pages
per page
$1.00

*Plat - Condominiums - Subdivisions

(Maximum size of 30 x 36, submit original and four copies)

per document
$88.00
Additional pages
per page
$1.00
   
*CERTIFIED COPY SAME AS FOR RECORDING  
All other copies
per page
$1.00

 

The Recorder shall charge an additional fee, in an amount equal to the fee otherwise provided by law, for recording a document (other than a document filed under the Plat Act.) that does not conform to the following standards, per 55 ILCS 5/3-5018:

1) The document shall consist of one or more individual sheets measuring 8.5 inches by 11 inches, not permanently bound or not a continuous form.
2) The document shall be legibly printed in black ink, by hand, typewritten or computer generated. (at least 10 point type is recommended). Signatures and dates may be in contrasting colors if they will reproduce clearly.
3) The document shall be on white paper of not less than 20-pound weight and shall have a clean margin of at least one-half inch on top, bottom and each side. Margins may be used for non-essential notations that will not affect the validity of the document, including but not limited to form numbers, page numbers, and customer notations.
4) The first page of the document shall contain blank space measuring at least 3 inches by 5 inches.
5) The document shall not have any attachment stapled or otherwise affixed to any page.

 

Uniform Commercial Code (U.C.C.)

All U.C.C. filings (except terminations)
$20.00

Plus automation fee

$3.00

Plus GIS Fee

$25.00
Total U.C.C. filing
$48.00
   
Termination Statement $28.00
Searches (per debtor) (husband-wife considered two names) $10.00

 

Note: There are no additional charges on any U.C.C. filing for extra names, attachments or non-standard forms.

NO LEGAL ADVISE, OPINIONS OR LEGAL DESCRIPTION WILL BE GIVEN BY THE RECORDER'S OFFICE STAFF EITHER IN PERSON OR BY TELEPHONE.

HOME | CONTACT US | LEGAL DISCLAIMER | © Stephenson County 2017